Forums Latest Members
  1. Dgercp Dec 15, 2015

137 k for a speedy! Well, I am a novice here, not knowing anything about speedmasters until about three months ago when I started visiting this site and memorizing MWO. So, what the hell do I know!

But, the speedmaster is maybe the most iconic watch in the world. This watch is the best of the best of the rarest
    of the rarest speedmaster. Way more rare than a crappy PN Daytona! So, yea, I see this as a bargain, and would
    not be surprised if this watch is worth 400k in a couple of years.

But.........I could be wrong?

ock2915 likes this.
  2. ulackfocus Dec 15, 2015

What the hell are you talking about? No link, no pictures.... what is "this" watch? ::confused2::

3. wsfarrell Dec 15, 2015

4. Modest_Proposal Trying too hard to be one of the cool kids Dec 15, 2015

How can you assess what a Speedmaster is worth, being such a novice? How can you even assess what $137,000 worth of watch looks like? ::bleh:: or predict the market trend of the watch in question.

Anyway, seeing as it's sold higher than any Speedmaster in history, I don't think I'd call it a bargain, per se.

Edit: I was under the assumption that it was the highest sale, as the Hodinkee article stated it was a record sale. It seems I was mistaken - but still. Quite high! They must have been talking about non-historically linked Speedmasters.

Edited Dec 15, 2015
  5. alphasquare Dec 15, 2015

Ron Evan's cal 861 speedy went for 245k... ::psy::

6. Dgercp Dec 15, 2015

I assume you think I am wrong and I may well be, time will tell. Because the watch sold higher than any
    Speedmaster in history does not preclude it from being a bargain. One does not need to be a speedmaster expert
    to have a sense of what 137k worth of watch looks like. Finally, there are lots of "experts" on Wall Street predicting the market incorrectly. I am giving an opinion, you can disagree without insulting.

7. cfw Dec 15, 2015