Forums Latest Members

9300 movement issue? Should I send it in for service?

1. John.R. Nov 20, 2016

Gents, I have a Speedmaster with a 9300 caliber movement that I have some concerns about. Hope anybody can advise me. The issue is the following:

The movement specs say it should have a 60hr power reserve. When i fully wind the watch manually the power reserve runs out after about 55 hours, which is acceptable to me. However, when I wear it for a few days and then put it in the the case the watch stops running usually after 30 hours or so. This seems not right. You could say that perhaps i dont move enough during the day to properly wind the movement. I do have an office job, however, i also have a 2500 and 8500 caliber watch and these sometimes keep running even longer than the 9300... I am afraid that there might be an issue with the auto wind function of the movement.

Should I take it in for service? I am not really keen on having to be without it for 6 weeks... What is your experience with the 9300 power reserve when you don't use a watch winder?

Any advice and/or experience is welcome.

2. jcmartinez98 Nov 20, 2016

The 60 hour reserve is based on a full wind.

If you're putting it away not fully wound you shouldn't expect a full reserve length.

Sounds like there's no issue with the watch.

3. John.R. Nov 20, 2016

I understand that. However, is it not strange that my 2500 and 8500 movements keep running longer than my 9300? I even had once that the wach was dead the next morning after wearing it the whole day. I did not fully wind it the day before, however I would expect the watch to fully wind to 60hrs via the rotor with normal use. It seems not to do this. Can any other 9300 owners share their experience on this?

4. korenje Nov 20, 2016