Forums Latest Members
  1. begandbelieve May 13, 2017

Hello guys, I recently bought a manual vintage omega de ville. I'm having trouble with it and not sure if it's operator error or if there was an issue that wasn't disclosed by the seller. I wind up the watch, can manage about 9 turns until I hear a click, it then lasts about 3 hours or so without wear.
    (Please know I'm new to the watch game and apologise if anything sounds stupid)
    Any ideas on this situation please?

Would be greatly appreciated

Many thanks

IMG_5401.JPG
    Edited May 13, 2017
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! May 13, 2017

Regardless of opinions about what's causing it, I would take it to a watchmaker to have checked out.

begandbelieve and watch3s like this.
  3. pinpallet May 13, 2017

My guess is broken mainspring (not a watchmaker)

begandbelieve likes this.
  4. Canuck May 13, 2017

What is the seller's return policy? How long have you had the watch? Depending on what you paid for it, the cost of a thorough service might result in your having paid more for the watch than you would want to pay. One has to wonder how many other problems a repair shop might discover, aside from a broken mainspring!

begandbelieve and watch3s like this.
  5. watch3s May 13, 2017

like the others say, Id return it if possible. wonder if the main spring is broken or slipped out of the arbor. a watch maker would be better equipped to find out

begandbelieve likes this.
  6. begandbelieve May 13, 2017

Thanks for all of your replies guys, I've had it going for 4 hours and it's still going. I am wondering if I was too gentle in winding (as I only got 8 turns), will see if any better and if not, attempt to return it.

7. Canuck May 13, 2017