Forums Latest Members

65' Omega Speedmaster Pre Moon? (Servicing recommendations)

1. JSlon Jan 6, 2017

Hi all! This is my first time posting on here and I'm no collector so happy for any feedback I can get from you all who are clearly more knowledgeable than me! I recently inherited an Omega from my grandpa that my grandma found in a drawer and didn't even know existed, so I have no knowledge of when it was last serviced, etc. I have deduced after doing some research around the past few weeks that I think it is a 1965 Speedmaster Ed White ref. 105.003, cal. 321. Was just curious if y'all think I'm correct. The watch clearly has some wear and dings but overall it looks like it's in pretty good shape and everything functions correctly! Was wondering, I live in New Orleans, LA, where we don't have an Omega store unfortunately but my grandma lives in Naples, FL, so she has access to one, what are y'alls experiences with sending a watch off to Omega in Bienne? I think, to be serviced, refurbished and what not. I have read a lot of positive and some negative experiences. I've also read about sending it to a Nesbit's? I believe in Seattle. Clearly whoever I send it off to I would want as many of the original parts intact and to remain and not be replaced. I don't mind the scratches or dings on the crystal and bezel personally and am hoping it just needs a good cleaning. Any feedback is helpful! (also I apologize in advance for the lack of stellar photography makes the watch look worse than is in person)

FullSizeRender.jpg-1.jpeg FullSizeRender.jpg-11.jpeg FullSizeRender.jpg-12.jpeg FullSizeRender.jpg-14.jpeg FullSizeRender.jpg-13.jpeg IMG_3427.JPG
  2. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Jan 6, 2017

Do Not Send It To Omega!!! Someone will be along to assist with a watchmaker but I can't stress enough to not send it to Omega.

3. watchknut New watch + Instagram + wife = dumbass Jan 6, 2017

DO NOT SEND TO BIENNE!!!!!!!!!!!!

very nice looking example and congrats.

JSlon likes this.