Forums Latest Members
  1. gnbar Nov 17, 2018

Hello all,

classic first time poster and long time lurker here. I've been learning a lot from reading posts here and finally decided to get my first Omega back in early 2018. Nothing fancy, a Geneve 131.019, cal 601 from the latter half of the 1960s.
    Fancy or not, I've been very happy with it. However, a couple of weeks ago disaster struck: I was wearing the watch at a pub and the crown got stuck in somebody's net-like woolen pull-over. To make a long story short: by trying to disentangle the situation, the crown pulled out together with the whole (I think) stem and I lost them altogether. I am still so upset at myself about this!

Since then I've order a substitute stem and crown. However, while I can put the stem in by pressing down the lock and can then wind the watch without problems, when I try to pull it out in order to set the watch, it regularly comes out compeltely.
    Being a complete noob to the watch world, I am a little bit at a loss and would really appreciate if you could help me with a couple of questions that I keep wondering about:
    1) It's the locking mechanism that is broken, right? - Is there anything else I can try before bringing it to the shop?
    2) While I found a substitute crown, it isn't the original one. By using resources I found here on the forums, I was able to find the reference number of the original crown, but I was wondering if there is any go-to place somebody from Europe would order such things from?
    3) I'd really appreciate some comments on the watch itself. I am very happy with it, as said. But it would be nice getting an opinion of people who know what they're talking about!

As, unfortunately, I don't have any decent camera, I am attaching mostly photos from the original seller and a couple of lower quality ones for the current situation of the watch!