Forums Latest Members
  1. Aaron Shapiro Jun 1, 2014

Hey Guys,

One of my pretty early posts here, I am fairly new to watches, and relatively new to Omega... A little less than a year ago I bought a 2234.50 SMP GMT, it wasn't really the watch I wanted, but it was close, and I have enjoyed wearing it. Today I have the opportunity to "trade up" into a 44.25mm Speedmaster Pro Co-Axial. The Speedmaster is the watch I have wanted, I like Chronometers, I like the moonwatch-ness of it... ILOVE the display back and Sapphire crystal. However, it has the 3313B movement. I didn't know anything about it, perhaps I foolishly assumed all was well with all things Omega... However upon a flippant googling of it, I came across a few negative reviews, mixed in with people saying that they've had no problems...for years...

My question, should I be concerned with this movement? Should I just strap the watch on my wrist and not worry about it? Should I reconsider my purchase and look into doing something different (I wouldn't back out on my trade up, but perhaps sell the Speedy relatively quickly...)?

I want to wear this watch and enjoy it, but the internet has a way of causing some doubts... Are the posts of people having trouble with the 3313B movement people with axes to grind, or is this movement truly a lemon?

Please excuse my in-expierence in the watch-world, and I appreciate some guidance.

-Aaron

2. Mothra Jun 2, 2014

Aaron, I bought a 3313b'ed Speedmaster new - I've had no issues at all with it over that time, except when the chrono minute hand stopped advancing a little while ago (I suspect a loose hand, nothing sinister). However, Archer is performing its first service and offered me the opportunity to spend hundreds of extra dollars upgrading it to prevent the problems from ever occurring. I couldn't say no, and al is doing the work for me. So you might want to think about wether you'd factor this cost into a service or would be ok without....