Forums Latest Members
  1. yyir Oct 17, 2016

Hi all,

I've decided I might have a new watch for my 30th and asked family to provide money towards the purchase.

I am going to the USA in a few weeks so might see if its worth picking one up there (although the USD - GBP rate means it might not be anymore!).

I was wondering on thoughts for a timeless keeper watch.

All input welcome!

2. yyir Oct 17, 2016

I should also say I have a few vintage Seamasters (black faced and a gold Seamaster 30)

I am currently considering a Speedmaster or a divers watch

3. chronos Oct 17, 2016

What is the price range and what are the criteria for the watch?

4. yyir Oct 17, 2016

Great point! I don't have a fixed price - maybe up to $3,000 USD? The bulk of the money will come from myself (depending on the generosity of my family!)

Criteria is I want a timeless watch I can wear on special occasions (nothing weird or "unique"). I want a watch I will have for my whole life which is capable in a formal work environment and also at family things. I am open on specific brand, but it needs to be something which is fairly well known as I would like one day to pass it along,

I don't want an everyday watch, I have a couple of beaters for that (Seiko and Rotary) for the beach, gardening etc

5. alam Oct 17, 2016

I'm going to try this approach for the next anniversary event in my life... :)

Vitezi likes this.
  6. yyir Oct 17, 2016

I was offered a Mont Blanc pen (from my brother), but i'll simply lose it! A watch is attached to my wrist!

7. gostang9 Oct 17, 2016

Is $3000 USD your limit? If so, are you open to pre-owned and grey-market watches?

Are you hoping for a vintage piece or something modern?

You know a watch is a very personal thing. The watches I love, you might not like.... And the ones I don't like, you might love. So your preference is more important that what anyone else's opinion is.