Forums Latest Members
  1. M'Bob May 21, 2015

Take a look at the hour hand and and numerals. I don't know enough about how either of these were made - gold over brass; gold plate over base metal; rolled gold (fill).

Since pure gold is not supposed to tarnish, I figure this could either be: 1) microscopic rust from the base metal through a porous gold plate; or, 2) the copper in the gold, tarnishing.

Questions, then: what is it most likely? What would you do about it?

Interestingly, those who are familiar with these are aware how fragile these dial are. I find it odd that the metallic elements 30t2rg.jpg have taken the brunt of something, rather than the dial surface. Exposure to sulfur vs. moisture? Too much chemistry for a Friday morning?

Thanks,

M'Bob

Edited May 21, 2015
    cicindela, noelekal and TexOmega like this.
  2. Tony C. Ωf Jury member May 21, 2015

I'm no expert on the topic, though I have given it some thought over the years.

I am a fan of vintage Omegas, but it is clear to me that around the mid-century they used, at least at times, chemical processes that contributed to worse than average degradation of their dials. There is the well-known "tropical" Speedmaster dial issue (and its chemical origins), but also some of their other models suffered from more severe degradation than those of many other brands.

Again, I have no expertise in chemistry, but from what I gather, the laminates used were, at times, a problem.

Now in this particular case, the question of gold content in the markers is an interesting one. I have owned a couple of early Rg chronometres, but have not had enough experience with them to have formed an opinion. Erich would certainly have a valuable insight, and perhaps he will join in the discussion.