Forums Latest Members

2005 Seamaster complimentary service

1. SeaMSTR Oct 14, 2020

Morning all,

I have a 2005 Seamaster 22525000, which i have owned since new.

In 2015 I had the watch serviced at an Omega Boutique in central London. I encountered a number of issues, and the watch was returned twice before I was happy (dust under the crystal, and a faulty replacement clasp).

After a bit of complaining, I was provided with a voucher for a complimentary next full service, a brand new clasp (unfitted and still in the packaging), a new box and card holder, and a cleaning kit. Not a bad result.

The watch is worn daily, and is keeping good time. I believe I’m about due another service, however I note the website states 5-8 years now?

I was just wondering whether it’s worth cashing in my voucher, or holding out? There doesn’t seem to be an expiry date on the paperwork, but I’d hate for them not to honour it because I have left it over 5 years for a service.

I phoned the boutique up, and the member of staff suggested I pay for a minor service (replace gaskets) and keep the voucher until I really need a full service...

Any input most welcome.
    Cheers, Paul.

2. alam Oct 14, 2020

I’m in the if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it camp.

3. Charlemagne1333 Oct 14, 2020

Makes no sense to pay for gasket replacements if you’re being offered a free service - sounds like the OB’s trying to claw some money back.

If you were to run the watch until it stops, having intoduced a more extensive and costlier service, then come along with your voucher, the OB could hesitate on grounds of unreasonable expectation

If there are no conditions, or expiration date attached to the voucher, then as @alam says, you could hold off for longer, but that would be for you to decide. As it stands, you effectively have a watch with a 10 year service interval, and a warranty on the service

Thrasher36 likes this.
  4. Aaron713 Oct 14, 2020