Forums Latest Members

1970 Speedmaster with moisture damage. Looking to have it repaired. (Seattle)

1. Doc. Caliban Nov 15, 2020

Hello.
    I have a 1970 Speedmaster that ended up in a pool by accident. I never saw liquid in the crystal but there was a little condensation on the inside of it. (It was a hot environment.) The watch has sat for 20 years since then because I'd assumed it was destroyed.

I recently posted a photo of the movement on Reddit where most were of the opinion that it could be repaired.

My goal would be to keep as much of the original movement as possible; replacing only the parts that cannot be restored. I do not want a new movement, or for the dial or hands to be changed.

Any suggestions or info is appreciated!

IMG_0594.jpg IMG_2165.jpg
    Seaborg and Zapatta like this.
  2. Sherbie Nov 15, 2020

The movement can be cleaned and serviced, no problem - but best to send this to someone competent

if you are in the UK - either Simon Freese or Swiss Time Services would be recommended

3. SkunkPrince Nov 15, 2020

Yes, please share where you are so we can recommend a watchmaker.

4. Sherbie Nov 15, 2020

5. Doc. Caliban Nov 15, 2020

I am in the US... forgot to mention that. I added it to the post Title.

Thanks!

6. SkunkPrince Nov 15, 2020

I recently had a Seamaster Professional serviced by Nesbit's in Seattle and I am 100% happy with their work. They are Omega authorized service and they pay attention to customers. Service is excellent and they are very responsive to questions.

wagudc, Foo2rama and Taybharr like this.
  7. Doc. Caliban Nov 15, 2020

I know of them, and I happen to be in Seattle! I'll arrange to drop it off to them this week after work and see what they say once they get a chance to have a look. Thanks!

janice&fred likes this.
  8. Larry S Color Commentator for the Hyperbole. Nov 15, 2020

Can you zero in on your geography a tad? To me, this looks like a movement service only. I'm not sure I'd do any more.