Forums Latest Members

SOLD 1969 Rolex Explorer 1016 - Reduced

1. chanjere05 Nov 16, 2017

Hello,

This is my first time selling on OF so any feedback is welcome! Firstly, thank you to the moderators for their permission to post here!

I'm selling my 1016 which I purchased on October 4th, 2017 because I haven't bonded with it unfortunately. More importantly, I have something else coming in which I hope to pay for :).

I aim for full disclosure to the best of my knowledge so here goes:

Dial: Frog foot dial is in excellent condition. No spots or marks. Aging of lume is creamy and quite even.

Hands: Hands are also in excellent condition. Lume matches quite closely to the dial markers. At certain angles, you can see the lume on the hour and minute hands are just a shade lighter. They are possibly replacements for a
    Submariner as the minute and second hands do not go past the minute markers.

Crystal: Crystal is domed and has only some faint hairline scratches that are barely visible.

Case: Case has been polished but lugs are still well defined. Minor scratches and scuffs for a watch of this age. Serial no. is 211XXXX, which is correct for a 1969. Both reference number and serial number are clearly stamped.

Case back: Dedication free and has quite a few service marks on the inside.

Crown: Screw down crown tightens and loosens smoothly. Winding is also smooth.

Bracelet: Rivet bracelet is a 7206 with 58 end links, with minimal stretch. Condition is similar to the case and some rivets do show some damage. All 12 links are present. Dated 2nd quarter, 1967.

Movement: A non-hacking 1570 from the transitional period of the late 60s, early 70s. It is clean and running well, although service history is unknown. After I bought the watch, I had it looked over by a former Rolex watchmaker and he said it did not require a full service, only a minor adjustment which he proceeded to do.