Forums Latest Members
  1. 67whitegoat Nov 9, 2017

This is my first time posting on this sight. I will appreciate any insight into this issue.
    As the title states, I have a 1968 Omega Seamaster chronograph 145.018. I purchased this watch from Jackmondwatches in November 2016. The watch had a service before sending it to me. I feel confident it was actually service based on the time grapher numbers. On a full wind amplitude is 301, beat error 0, and rate -1.
    With the chrono running amplitude is 285, beat error -1, rate -4.
    The issue: The watch will run perfect without the chrono but, with chrono engaged it will randomly stop. It may run 2 hour or it may run 20 hour before it stops. If I stop and start the chrono it will start running. I have even tapped on the crystal and started it back running. Strange thing, time is random but the chrono sweep always stops at 58 seconds. None of the hand are touching.

Jeff

Edited Nov 10, 2017
  2. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Nov 10, 2017

The watch is stopping as the finger on the central chronograph seconds recording wheel is tripping the minute recorder function - this is the seconds recording wheel and the arrow is pointing at the finger:

[​IMG]

If the amplitude is as high as you say, then I would be looking at the tension on the spring for the minute counter jumper, on the underside of the chronograph bridge.

The finger on the wheel above contacts an intermediate wheel for the minute recorder, and then the minute recorder wheel. The minute recorder wheel is kept in place buy the minute recorder jumper:

[​IMG]

It moves out of the way to let the wheel advance, and the tension of that is controlled by the spring:

[​IMG]