Forums Latest Members
  1. Richard Maximo Feb 7, 2014

Hello Everybody,

I'm the happy onwer of a seamaster 300, 166.024 and I'm considering to execute a complete maintenance service to the watch, the watch had no maintenance since 20 years, is working fine, but at the same time I can see that it needs to be polish, cleened and mantained, so i can keep it for 40 more years, working. I went to visit the local omega representant to check the service, but i was not convinced to let the watch there to do it, I'm a kitesurfer instructor and diver occasionaly, they don´t warranty the watch if I put on the water after the service done (strange???), I would like to have your opinion about keeping the watch as ligit as possible, is this service really trustable in terms of changing used pieces by new ones who will not compromise the value of the watch?, by the video on omega web page it looks like exactly what the watch needs http://www.omegawatches.com/customer-service/watch-intervention/complete-maintenance-service . Please could you be so kind to share your experience with me.

Thanks
    Richard

2. ulackfocus Feb 7, 2014

Where are you located at Richard?

You don't want to change one single thing if you can help it because it can really kill the value.

3. bupdyke Feb 7, 2014

My first post here, but I have collected many Omega’s over many years. Congratulations on an awesome watch!

I second Ulackfocus. If sent to Omega Switzerland, they often tend to polish it like new. They will replace hands with new hands. They may try to convince you to have the dial refurbished. The value of the watch to collectors can be strongly effected if the integrity of the originality is compromised. I have this exact watch, and besides a good cleaning by a local excellent watchmaker, I left it alone.

4. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Feb 7, 2014

I treat vintage watch collectability the same way as I appreciate antique firearms.