Forums Latest Members

1960's Seamasters, some dials have raised "OMEGA" some are just printed on. WHY??

1. SteveHH Jul 15, 2016

Hi all, I'm not an expert on watches but I have a nice little collection. A friend gave me a really minty (from what I can tell, see my avatar) 601 131.019 with original strap, buckle and box. I'm not asking about that, it was a gift and it's beautiful.

My (probably really) stupid question is this. I'm always looking for a nice Seamaster or two but I have not been able to find out WHY some (from the exact same era) have the OMEGA raised up and some are printed on. Is it a USA vs. other countries thing? Can someone please explain this to me? I grabbed these shots from our buddies at QVT, hope they don't mind. What makes one raised and the other printed on? Call me confused, thanks!

And yes, I joined here just to ask this question, it's been bugging me for days. omega 67.jpg omega 63.jpg

2. al128 unsolicited co-moderation giverer Jul 16, 2016

Just a guess; some might have cost 50, some 100 and some 300 dollars...

So different price segments

Foo2rama likes this.
  3. SteveHH Jul 16, 2016

Well, squinting at the vintage Omega catalogs on line, the price is very close, even from country to country. Someone told me that the "printed" Omega is always a redial but I've seen well-worn versions without raised lettering so that can't be true.

Someone must know on the Omega Forum! Either it's the very first time this question has been asked (doubtful) or it's been asked so many times that the experts who hang around here aren't bothering to answer again. I did a search here, came up with nothing.

By the way those two QVT photos in my first post (the 1967 and 1963 Seamasters for sale), they look too good to be true. Are they redials? QVT says no, original dials.. I'd grab one if I knew for sure...

Thanks, everyone.

4. Vitezi Jul 16, 2016