Forums Latest Members
  1. jksinga Mar 30, 2016

Hey this is my first time posting in a watch forum, or any forum for that matter. I have this Omega Seamaster Deville that was my grandfathers; he purchased it sometime in the 1960s. I just had some questions about it, but I'm not too sure how many of them are able to be answered. Worth a shot.
    -why is the back blank, without the normal Omega designs? and is it still waterproof even though it doesn't say it is?
    -Is there any gold on here or is it all steel?
    -Apart from cleaning and new crystal, is there anything I should have done to it? It keeps time fairly well, loses about a minute a day.
    PS: I'm thinking about replacing the band with something more like an alligator leather. Any suggestions?

Thanks IMG_0494.JPG IMG_0495.JPG IMG_0497.JPG

2. cimo Mar 30, 2016

This looks like a gold cap model. The bezel is probably 14k gold and the back is stainless steel. The plain back case is seen on US collection models and was a feature on examples intended for personalization/engraving.

It is a waterproof design, but as with all vintage watches you are discouraged from exposing it to any moisture despite whatever waterproof rating it once had.

It will need a new crown along with the service as this is a wear part commonly replaced periodically.

I personally like that band, but leather of any color and finish would look nice. I like light brown and black on these.

Giff2577 likes this.
  3. CdnWatchDoc Mar 30, 2016

[​IMG]

For comparison...this one does have the Seamaster Hippocampus on the back

JimInOz and ahartfie like this.
  4. cimo Mar 30, 2016

But that's a picture of the front! :p

5. Ravineman Mar 30, 2016

Nice watch. Looks like your grandfather wore the watch and its showing its age, which is not a bad thng at all.
    A new band will not change much.