Forums Latest Members

1665 Double Red - expertise needed

1. Seaborg May 9, 2019

Dear OF members,

As some of you already know, I've been offered recently a 1665 Double Red for trade.
    It's described as a MK3 dial, and comes full set (box + papers + Rolex service card). Apparently the case was recut and the insert is a service one (80's period).
    I have sollicitated several experts (that I'm CLEARLY not as a complete newbie in Rolex watches).
    By the way, I really want to highlight the experts kindly answered my questions, thank you so much guys :thumbsup:;) !

Nevertheless, the opinions diverge. Two said the watch is fine (some chips on the dial) and one said the dial is fake ! As a result, I post here for more advices about this particular watch as this watch would make me trade half of my Speedy collection :oops:, so I need to be sure...

Thank you all for your precious help :thumbsup:.

Here are the pictures I have.

fullsizeoutput_17aa.jpeg A1H5yX8mRvS�hynm2hFw.jpg FbP969h1QUmhzxxHALPnkQ.jpg fullsizeoutput_17c9.jpeg JmcGMmEsTNaAtBdc1CqUcw.jpg K2C7edkZSeGPBlJ26 nA2g.jpg N9g1FrakQb6 P18NccE9QA.jpg oJAa2wGkSuSXzSA2pU3Zyw.jpg papIkIlcSDqI4kCY2p9GbQ.jpg U�oLwQT0OI6Wc0MWnDLA.jpg v �1N1QkCSwswxJWBqOw.jpg Wo �2VSwmQOEQUdo4Y7Q.jpg XeT0IE0CS0 iCawQF0ek Q.jpg xU1XRKgwSneSxIpjHEW1DA.jpg

2. juju May 9, 2019

I don't own a 1665 but have a couple vintage subs, my 2 cents:

- If you want advice on the authenticity of the dial you need high-res macro shots of the dial facing straight at the camera and with the hands the out of the way (if the seller is uncooperative that would be a red flag...)

- The insert seems to have a thinner flat 4 serif font which would indicate late '70s early '80s and be consistent with the 9350 bracelet

- Personally I would be ready to forgo the complete set for a nicer case (it seems to me that the crown guards are a bit soft and the chamfers have been widened on some lugs)

Otherwise that tritium looks damn good!