Forums Latest Members

“Private Watch Sales” recent trends and observations

1. airansun In the shuffling madness Mar 29, 2021

Without cataloguing instances, I’ve observed two distinct trends in our Private Watch Sales Forum in the past twelve months or so. ::book::

1 - It may be that Rolexes continue to push skyward, but vintage Speedmasters have come to a near dead stop, and it seems to get worse month by month. It’s not just buyers being pickier or prices are falling. There have been some notable pieces, fairly priced or better, that have sat for weeks and months on the page. (I know, there have been an exception or two). Some of them have killed me not to buy, so I know how long a couple have kicked around, without a buyer in sight. As the owner of more than one Speedmaster, my heart goes out to the owners of those notable pieces. :oops:

So that we are clear, I’m not talking about value nearly as much as I am speaking to liquidity. I’m a hobbyist, so I’m not doing this to make money. But, in times of crisis, some of us have to look to liquidity. This apparent Speedmaster trend is sobering.

(By the way, and I’m sorry that Dennis is longer here to read this, I admit that I’m more than a little bored of vintage Speedmasters, and have been for over a year. Looking at them, following the market or wearing them. :eek: Over-saturation, I guess. Serves me right. Oh, and Dennis would not be persuaded by this confession, I think, because all I’ve done is I’ve switched to 60’s Rolex Oyster Perpetuals. See below. Oh well.)

2 - There have been some remarkably well priced, rare and pristine pieces that have appeared in the forum and typically sold within hours. Some broke my heart to have missed. Good going you sellers (you know the ones I’m talking about)! :thumbsup:

I know it’s not about me and I have nothing to do with it, but these sellers and those watches make me proud of OF.