Forums Latest Members

Zenith meets Breguet: the Chronometers of Thomas Engel

1. John Chris Il Duca de Luca Oct 26, 2013

Professor Thomas Engel is a German scientist whose research into plastics and polymers earned him Germany’s Diesel Medal for innovation. Better known recipients include the celebrated rocket scientist Wernher von Braun. I have assumed that Prof. Engel still lives, as I have found no indication to the contrary on the internet. If so, he would be 86.

Unlike the late Herr Dr. von Braun, however, Herr Prof. Engel was entirely self-taught (ein autodidakt), having studied neither physics nor chemistry. At 18 or 19 he emerged from the American POW camp at Ingolstadt to wash dishes, drive taxis, and work in a furniture factory and in construction, before beginning to experiment on his own with polyethylene and polymerization, a subject on which he had read widely after being introduced to it during his detention. Over his career he obtained some 120 patents in the field.

But organic chemistry was not his only passion. Through friends in England, he was introduced to, and fell in love with, the art of watchmaking. In particular, he became enamored of the work of Abraham Louis Breguet of Paris (1747-1823), possibly the greatest watchmaker of all time (to coin a phrase). Many would omit the word “possibly”.

In addition to collecting watches from Breguet (any produced after the Master’s death being unworthy of a Breguet collector’s interest in Engel’s view, doubtlessly including the current production from the Swatch Group under the same name), Engel also collected watchmaking tools from the 18th and 19th centuries of the sort used by Breguet himself.