Forums Latest Members

Where to take my Omega for evaluation?

1. makiesan Sep 22, 2014

Hello everyone,
    I"m new to the forum and live in Los Angeles area in California. I have a Omega Seamaster Chromograph. Recently, I purchased a rather in-expensive Swatch Automatic watch (9-jewels) and started to compare with my Omega. What I discovered is that the SeaMaster time is not keep as accurate as the Swatch. OMG- certainly I would expect a price of Omega timepiece would be superior than my < $200 Swatch.
    I can tell within 2-days the Omega can loose about 8-10 seconds behind the actual digital dial.
    Question: Where would you recommend to take it for a tune-up or service? [ Behind the Omega service center, so I might compare price and quality of work]

Much appreciate in advance.
    Gary

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Sep 23, 2014

Accuracy and regulation are two very different things, the Seamaster is definitely a more accurate watch even if right now its not as accurately regulated as your Swatch. Do you know what model of Seamaster Pro Chronograph it is? If its one of the Calibre 1152/1164s you can take it to any quality independent watchmaker and get a great result, if its one of the 3303/3313/9300s you might want to get someone who's been correctly trained on those movements to work on it.

3. makiesan Sep 23, 2014

Thank you for the reply. What is the different? Mine is calibre 1164. I brought it in 2005 as a gift for myself when I'm got my first job. On the face it has three sub dials that are in 6, 9,12 position.
    Can you explain what is the different on regulation vs accuracy ? btw, I called the state service center ( apparently all calls get transfer to New Jersey call center) and the rep. said that this model has Tolerance between 4-5 seconds behind or 8-10 ahead on an intra-day. Is that correct? Wow.

again appreciate the insight

4. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Sep 23, 2014

The tolerances should be -1 to +6 per day.