Forums Latest Members

Watch collecting on a college budget. It IS possible! (Hamilton, Tudor, Omega, UG, and more!)

1. avl Oct 16, 2014

Hello all,

I am a first time poster but have used the information I learned here to buy my first vintage watch, a Universal Geneve polerouter.

I am a college student, thus money is a HUGE factor to what watches I can get. The first watch I got was a Seiko 5, which I happen to think is an INCREDIBLE buy from a company with real history and respect.
    IMG_4463.jpg
    I waited a year after that and made sure I only got pieces that while relatively inexpensive, are still worthwhile in the world of watches. My first "real" watch was a 42mm Hamilton Khaki Field that I bought used. I really had to put this one on a NATO strap given it's lineage as a true field watch. It also comes with the basically chronometer grade ETA 2824-2 movement that is arguably made in house (ETA and Hamilton both under the Swatch group). For these reasons, I also think this is a great watch that you can pick up in the used market for around $300.
    IMG_4462.jpg

So, with two good watch collector's watches (again for your average college student) I wanted to get away from the NATO style field watch and go another direction. I wanted to add some sort of tool/dive watch on a steel bracelet (ideally a chono). The problem is, there aren't any "real" chronos out there that are relatively affordable. This is about the time that my daily visits to Hodinkee persuaded me into the world of vintage watches.