Forums Latest Members
  1. ocgarza Sep 6, 2014

THanks for the advice. I am not a watch collector but have a question about a rare Omega.

I am the sole owner of a vintage PloProf that I purchased back in 1977 or so from Don Brod's dive shop in Austin, Texas.

I used the watch extensively when I was a professional underwater photographer and scuba instructor. My watch had years of use (at least ten years!) and thousands of hours of underwater time. I trusted it with my life and it never failed me. But, being young and having to spend almost all my money on underwater photo gear, I did absolutely no maintenance on the watch.
    It has been in my safe for at least at least 10 years and I got it out last week and wound it and set the date and it still works like a charm. Keeps perfect time compared to Rolex and Casio G-Shock and the date functions too.

The dial has faded, as did the hands, the case is worn with dents and scratches, the crystal has a few scratches. I have the Omega bracelet and the isofrane strap, neither of them were used during my diving days. (I used a thick orange velcro strap during my diving years because it was so easy to use it with or without a wetsuit.