Forums Latest Members
  1. KCScott Jan 3, 2015

2. ICONO Jan 4, 2015

This is a very interesting ‘ Design' innovation

The incorporation of an ‘e strap’ coupled with an analogue timepiece may possibly be the way forward.

As a professional photographer, I witnessed the incredible speed, at which Digital imagery displaced traditional, ( 100+ years of film ) Analogue photography in the early 2000’s.

As a studio, we bought into Digital in ’97 – The cost was the best part of £400k then – ( That included the construction of reinforced strong rooms to keep the cameras in at night, part of the Insurer's lunatic stipulations.)

I would speculate that people currently underestimate the speed at which the ‘e watch’ will replace traditional watches, as their digital sophistication, functionality, & popular acceptance geometrically increases.

One can now buy, an extremely ‘high end’ Hasselblad film camera system ( and lenses) , for a tiny fraction, of the original cost fifteen years ago.

I wonder if the same ‘perceived value‘ effect will degrade the ‘market price’ of contemporary, mechanical watches ?

I also suspect, we will see the first Omega ‘e watch’ ( perhaps in partnership with Apple / Microsoft ) within the next 5 years. - It is too obvious a 'Marketing & Branding' opportunity to miss.

Georgieboy58 and Nobel Prize like this.
  3. Superdoc Jan 4, 2015

Interesting, and the camera and Phone rates of adoption, even among those reluctant to 'get on board' has been phenomenal...

I love seeing Octogenarians texting their grandkids/or eachother...

So I am trying to not underestimate the potential popularity of the Smart Watch...

But I just can't imagine it replacing the traditional timepiece...

Digital cameras replaced traditional - but people needed cameras...

People really don't 'need' watches... there are multiple ways to tell time - most often that smart phone itself....