Forums Latest Members

Required Re-dialing with a Service from Longines--really?

1. woodwkr2 Mar 18, 2014

Beautiful 13ZN up for auction has 90 bids in less than 24 hours: http://www.ebay.com/itm/1940s-Longines-13ZN-12-Chronograph-/111302675657Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

The seller says "You are bidding on a 1940's Longines 13ZN-12 chronograph with central minute recorder. I sent this watch to Longines in Switzerland to have it serviced. It's been a few years now, but it still runs well and the chronograph functions properly. It hasn't been worn since the service. They refinished the dial, that was a requirement for the service. The case is great and still retains it's original finish. It's a great watch!"

I have no knowledge about the seller, but I've never heard of a watch company REQUIRING a re-dial with a service. Even Rolex, who is known for requiring replacement of crystals, crowns, hands, etc. can usually be persuaded to leave the original dial alone. Is Longines factory service really so dumb that they'd require the destruction of one of the towering jewels of horological and chronographic history?

2. LarryG not KennyG, not OG, just LarryG Mar 18, 2014

Couldn't they have come up with a proper second hand while they were busy redialing?

3. ulackfocus Mar 18, 2014

The customer has the right to leave the dial as is with every watch manufacturer I know of. I had a totally ruined JLC dial that they asked me if I wanted the dial redone or not.

4. Tony C. Ωf Jury member Mar 18, 2014