Forums Latest Members

Request input on 1966 Omega Speedmaster 105.022 321

1. RawArcher Measures thread drift on the Richter Scale Oct 8, 2014

Hi All. Pretty new to the world of watches and very new to the world of Omega. Have been reading and studying a ton but........

Would love this group's opinion on the eBay watch linked below. Curious as to its authenticity, originality and overall correctness. It looks good to me -- I can see obvious markings on case, movement and bezel and the price appears right, but as I said......I'm just getting started. No idea how to pot more nuanced issues or clever fakes. Seller has perfect credentials and states everything to be pretty much original/authentic.

You will quickly notice the watch is showing as "SOLD". That's me. However, I have communicated with the seller and he knows I am holding him to the strictest interpretation of his description, which again goes back to nearly everything being 100% original/authentic.

Any and all thoughts are welcome. Please don't hold back because I am half-way pregnant. Thank you.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/161416925883Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. mozambique Oct 8, 2014

Hi,
    I looked at this watch too. Overall it looked pretty good, although I think the original bracelet would have been a 1039, rather than the later 1171.

The one thing that looked odd to me was the inside of the case back. It looks like it has been polished (circular swirls almost gone) and the final number six in the 105.012-66 looked like it had been engraved recently (a reason for the polished inner face?). From my experience, often the final number is of a larger size than those preceding, but the six here just looks a bit off to me. Maybe request a better photo?

3. Barking mad Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Oct 8, 2014

All looks good to me.

RawArcher likes this.
  4. RawArcher Measures thread drift on the Richter Scale Oct 8, 2014