Forums Latest Members

opinion on this Girard Perregaux

1. theKfactor Jul 27, 2014

This would be my first vinatge purchase, and being a physician i thought this was neat.
    A little nervous since i haven't seen in person but wanted some help in seeing if this is legit and if anyone knows about this GP model.
    It is 36mm
    Thanks in advance!

gp1.JPG gp2.JPG gp3.JPG
  2. woodwkr2 Jul 27, 2014

I don't know much about this particular reference or movement. But, from what you've posted, I'd skip it as your first vintage watch purchase.

The plating on the crown and pusher is badly worn. The hour and minutes hands are mis-matched (I'm not sure which of the two is original). It's also missing the sweep second hand that you need to use the pulsation scale. On the movement side, it appears that there are a few parts missing, though otherwise the movement doesn't appear badly abused.

Those pulsation dials are very cool and collectible, particularly for those of us who are involved in patient care. If you're patient, I believe that you'll find examples in just about every major brand.

3. theKfactor Jul 28, 2014

woodwkr2,
    thanks for chiming in, and about 30 seconds after i posted i realized this one wasn't for me. Missing stuff, needs work, etc. and not a good start. Gonna look for a nice UG, Omega, or GP...the hunt goes on.

4. NT931 Jul 28, 2014

5. woodwkr2 Jul 28, 2014

In the vintage world, Universal Geneve carved out a very nice collection of pulsation watches that they called the Medico-Compax. I've got one of these in steel and really like it.

Be sure to post your other vintage 'contemplations' around here before you pull the trigger. There's a lot of guys with experience who can point you in the right direction.

NT931 likes this.
  6. woodwkr2 Jul 28, 2014