Forums Latest Members
  1. BaronRed Jul 27, 2014

First, please forgive me if i transgress any forum rules. I didn't see specific guidelines for posting, so if i transgress....sorry!

I am new to collecting vintage Omega, but have been collecting other vintage pieces for a number of years. I really want to build a small collection of vintage Omega and have identified the first two watches that i want to hunt. However, as with most vintage, i suspect that there are a number of snake-pits that I can fall through and so wanted to consult with the experts and enthusiasts on this forum for some advice. It would be really appreciated.

The top target is a 2914-1 or 2914-2, though having said that I would also not rule out a later generation. However, I do so like the early generations.

The second target is the 2913 with lollipop hand. Just fabulous.

My problem, however, is knowing how to go about the hunt. It seems to me that very few if any dealers are holding either of these watches. So, my first question is how to find one!! How to go about letting potential sellers know etc. The second issue is concerning originality. Relume, refinishing and non-original hands rule a watch out from my perspective. However, not being an expert, who would i go about verifying such detail?

Any advice would be warmly received.

Regards,

B

2. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Jul 27, 2014

Save us some work and show us some pictures.

citizenrich and Spacefruit like this.
  3. Stewart H Honorary NJ Resident Jul 27, 2014

Hi. I have sent a message to someone who might be able to help you with one of them. Obviously, the next move is up to them.

citizenrich likes this.
  4. BaronRed Jul 28, 2014

I can't show pictures for the reasons in my first post...i need to find the watches and advice on where to look is really what i am needing.....

5. BaronRed Jul 28, 2014

Many thanks

6. marturx Jul 28, 2014

Hi and welcome to the forum!