Forums Latest Members

New Arrival: Longines Wittnauer Weems Second Setting Watch

1. ghwatch Aug 3, 2014

I have been very lucky these past several months when it comes to rare pre-WWII vintage military watches. Some of you may recall that a couple months ago I found a Hanhart KM Cal.40 Monopusher Chronograph which I wrote about here: http://omegaforums.net/threads/new-arrival-hanhart-km-wwii-kriegsmarine-cal-40-monopusher.14286/

The Hanhart I thought was a “fluke”, one of those lucky miracles that occur once in a year or two of vintage watch hunting… however miracles happen more often than we think:

[​IMG]

A pre-WWII Longines-Wittnauer Weems Second Setting watch.

I found this in an obscure antique dealer here in Japan. The owner of the shop must have been 80+ years old, a white-haired gentleman that has been collecting watches for 30+ years. In his long collecting career he has only seen and bought 3 of these Weems’ and this is his last one.

I am not an expert on these early Longines, so for more about this watch please see this fantastic write-up I found: http://thesydneytarts.blogspot.jp/2012/03/rare-longines-wittnauer-second-setting.html

I’ve read that several of these Weems’ were imported by Japanese Imperial Navy personnel in the 40’s and have military markings on the back, but this one is unmarked. The seller told me that he had bought it in Japan many years ago, so perhaps this was intended for civilian use? We will probably never know but it is in fantastic condition so I assume was tucked away in a drawer for most of its life.