Forums Latest Members
  1. rycat Jan 27, 2015

I'm looking at buying this watch online, but seller has posted only one very low res small photo (not a great sign, I know).

I realize it’s almost impossible to tell the authenticity from this picture, but if anybody could tell from this if it is an obvious fake I would appreciate the help.

If it is possibly a genuine Omega, does anybody have a guess at what it might be?

Thanks

watch.jpg
  2. Steve1haggart Jan 27, 2015

It looks like a seamaster but I’m no expert . the photo is very poor quality ,it wouldn’t be for me to say but save your money .

ilrocco likes this.
  3. ilrocco Jan 27, 2015

Save you money ;)

4. rycat Jan 27, 2015

Thanks ilrocco, I appreciate the advice. Is the watch an obvious fake, or is the dodgy low res photo that is the red flag?
    The reason I ask is that the seller has offered to meet in person to show me the watch.

5. ilrocco Jan 27, 2015

I can't say if it's a fake or not, but I can say that I wouldn't buy anything with just that picture.
    Meet the guy, take some good pictures of the watch (outside and inside) and then show them here: you'll get some good advices!:)

rycat likes this.
  6. JimInOz Melbourne Australia Jan 27, 2015

My gut says it's a genuine Omega.
    But what condition?
    Hard to say from the crap photo.
    Unless the seller provides better pics (movement as well) then I'd suggest walking............

rycat likes this.
  7. John R Smith Jan 27, 2015

It's not a fake. Despite the really crap photo, we can see enough to make a guess that this is an automatic Seamaster, probably a 'bumper' cal 351 or 354 from the early 1950s, possibly case reference 2577. The crown is completely wrong, the dial looks to be in a bad way. If the seller can't be bothered to make an effort, why should you be interested?

Hijak and rycat like this.
  8. redpcar Jan 27, 2015