Forums Latest Members
  1. laurentk Nov 24, 2014

Hi all,
    Newbie here, hope i don't break any forum rule here !

Just got a vintage (my second only) Omega. Seems totally legit, certified, opened and movement verified ...
    However, I can't seem to find any info on it, and especially it's strange dial !
    It's a 2609/3 from the 50s', calibre 265, but can you tell me more about it ?

What model is it (since it's not the seamaster, de ville, ....) ?
    What's the reversed trident thingy ?
    Does this model has a special meaning, history ?

Thank you !!
    Laurent

[​IMG]

omega mouvement 130078-0003-017.jpg
  2. MSNWatch Vintage Omega Aficionado Staff Member Nov 24, 2014

The dial has been refinished - this dial "style" is incorrect for the case reference - done that way to suggest a military provenance and thus attempt to increase the value of the watch.

3. laurentk Nov 24, 2014

Ha, interesting, I didn't investigate that path.
    Ok, thanks for your answer.
    Is it something that happens often ?

4. MSNWatch Vintage Omega Aficionado Staff Member Nov 24, 2014

Very common to have dials refinished and the vast majority of vintage omegas that have a military look like this one are not military watches at all. The watch is otherwise a jumbo sized manual wind vintage omega - the movement looks ok and the case has been polished.

5. laurentk Nov 24, 2014

Military or not (and i'll trust you if you say it's not), it's a beautiful finish and i like it very much :)
    It's surprisingly sober and contemporary for a 60 year old watch (the original dial is the same, without the army "triden" apparently).

Thanks, so it's a base of jumbo sized, manual wind, omega. The movement is original at least.
    The "cover" indicates a 2609/3 and the parts numbers seem legit on the omega database.

6. X350 XJR Vintage Omega Aficionado Nov 24, 2014