Forums Latest Members
  1. Cal_321 Nov 13, 2014

Don't hit me, it's surely already discussed here, but I can't find the exact answer to my question.

Which crown and which handset is authentic and period correct for this model?
    I'm asking because there are a lot of different details by hands (not only sweep second with special tail) and crowns...

Thanks for your answer, Ralph

2. Cal_321 Nov 18, 2014

Does nobody have an idea?

3. Dengar Nov 18, 2014

I am a noob and this is by no means a definitive answer, but I googled "speedmaster 105.003" and the third hit was:
    http://www.speedmaster101.com/105-003/

It says "correct hands" under the pic. But it is the internet... so double check.

4. Dash1 Nov 18, 2014

Yes the excellent website linked above can be relied upon. It has been created by a member here who knows his onions (and Speedmasters!) The correct crown has a flat footed Omega symbol rather than the turned up one of modern crowns, but it is very common to have a replaced crown, the correct hands are more important.

5. JohnSteed Nov 18, 2014

nice! see you've already found your way around

6. richardew Nov 18, 2014

Most collectors want an original handset that displays age c/w the rest of the watch. An original crown is nice but it is fairly standard to replace it when the watch is serviced. The crown has a non renewable rubber gasket that contributes to the water resistant property of the watch.
    10.7.13 _66105.003 fisheye.jpg

7. Cal_321 Nov 18, 2014

Thanks a lot so far. I know speedmaster101 but the Logo at the crown is not visible.

Does anyone have a picture of an model-authentic crown? My one has a round Omega-Logo, but someone said the authentic logo is small and tall.

Is only one size from the sweep second exisiting? My watchmaker says, there a are two versions with different length...

8. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Nov 18, 2014

Speedmaster101 has no comment on crowns.